Posted by: Winslie Gomez | 25/09/2007

SATAN: The Funny Kind

Was it cuckoldry, a sign of drifting away from the fold. I took a picture with my Orange SPV M3100, a 2 megapixel camera , stuck it into photoshop, trimmed it and here it is.

There are some things that just make you smile. Most times you hide your smile with a brief lifting of the lips, a sign of amusement, but pass on by.

This one I just had to stop and do something about it.

SATAN

The car was owned by Ric a plumber who used to be a model. Thanks Ric!

What a wonderful play on words or should that be iconographies.

Here was a symbol that once stood for all those alleged wonderful things like god, love etc etc.

In their origins they were supposed to represent the truth as told by god and recorded by people.

But then you see this symbol on the rear end of the car that cuts you up on the motorway.

As they say: Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them!

Actions speak a lot louder than words!

Responses

  1. I’ve had to amend this post and delete the comments as it does not add to the article in hand.

    @Darlene.
    I have answered all your questions and it is a sad part of life that in some instances there is no room for dialogue, with parties who have parted company. Thanks

  2. I have never understood the need for people to wear their religion on their sleeve. It seems to me that Ric was just making fun of a symbol that some feel they have to use in order to advertise that they are Christian. I wouldn’t put the “satan” sign on my car, but I think it’s funny. The horns were a nice touch.

    In the U.S. a few years ago, there were popular “baby on board” signs that people put in their rear windows, as if when seeing one, it would make you slow down. Or else they wanted the world to know they were the proud parents of a wee one.

    After these signs became prevalent, I began to see “spoof” signs that said “Mother-In-Law in trunk.” I just had to laugh.

  3. Donna,
    “I have never understood the need for people to wear ”
    Quite simple Donna we all want to be liked and the religious symbol portrays a godliness about yourself.

    I recall reading somewhere about how you hang your curtains, Lining in-or-out. What do you want the world to see about you?
    The stickers are a bit of amusement, but the US I think has top marks for originality, every one else just copies!
    Thanks for your comment.

  4. “…the religious symbol portrays a godliness about yourself.”

    But does displaying a symbol make you godly? I would think the godliness is within, if it is there. I think some would like to think that because they display the fish symbol on their car or the cross around their neck that it makes them “godly.”

    I have no problem with wearing a cross if it makes you feel good about yourself, or if you find comfort in it, e.g., a rosary. It’s when you use a religious symbol to try to persuade others that you are “godly” or “religious” that seems superficial and phony to me.

  5. Hello Winslie,

    I am Leon, from France. I am the webmaster of the website http://www.epell.org, where you find the ICHTUS image.

    Funny, isn’t it, that I can trace that? Do you also so know that another one is tracing you? Someone who loves you, he is called Jesus.

    Satan is the symbol of war and dead, of egoism and lies. I don’t think that is funny. Jesus was and is (in my belief) the contrary. A man of love and peace, of truth and life, the only way. The choice is up to you.

    God blesses you Winslie.

  6. Hi Leon
    I appreciate your calm demeanour and conviction.

    Nice to make your acquaintance and thanks for the image.

    It’s taken a long time for you to surface. Perhaps you have been praying for me, which is good as I do need it. I do believe in the power of prayer.

    I am not surprised that you can trace me, as I live in UK, the land with more surveillance cameras than you can imagine,

    Secondly, I am not very far away ,my dear French neighbour, as I am only across the water on the south coast. Do feel free to drop by, I would appreciate a chat and bring some French plonk, if you don’t mind.

    If Satan is the symbol of war, why did the French kill indigenous people in the name of Jesus?

    ALSO:
    Please tell me, why did Jesus do this,(according to Mathew)?

    15. On reaching Jerusalem, Jesus entered the temple area and began driving out those who were buying and selling there. He overturned the tables of the money changers and the benches of those selling doves,

    16. and would not allow anyone to carry merchandise through the temple courts.

    17. And as he taught them, he said, “Is it not written:
    ” ‘My house will be called a house of prayer for all nations’[c]? But you have made it ‘a den of robbers.’[d]”

    This JESUS doesn’t sound like your description of love and peace. Truth, yes of course. I’m with you on that one.

    Bye Leon, I accept you are sincere. It is good to laugh and not take things TOO seriously!

  7. Hello Winslie

    Thank you for your serious reaction. Let us laugh all the way, and drink a good wine. Or, as the Ecclesiaste says « Be happy, young man, while you are young, and let your heart give you joy in the days of your youth »

    The fact that French killed indigenous people in the name of Jesus show us that we all, I, the French (I am not French) and you, Christians and no Christians, do make mistakes. Or, as Paul wrote in his letter to the Romans “There is no one righteous, not even one”

    However, God loves us as a father, he loves us with our mistakes.

    That doesn’t mean that we can love or accept our mistakes, and I thank that’s exactly where the part you cited from the bible is about. Jesus did not accept bad things in his own house.

  8. Thank you Leon
    That was very sweet. Absolutely right, beneath all that veneer of religiosity we are all the same.
    I want to strive for just three things:
    1.Honesty
    2. Compassion
    3. Tolerance
    in the measure that I can and willing to learn from my mistakes.
    As for the satan image I just felt that the guy had been original in his design and I was curious as to why it was important to him.
    So, do you blog or what, for EPELL?

  9. Honesty, compassion and tolerance: good items Winslie. And indeed, we can learn from our mistakes. I made many, but I know the One paid for me.

    About tolerance, did you read these: « When an alien lives with you in your land, do not mistreat him. The alien living with you must be treated as one of your native-born. Love him as yourself, for you were aliens in Egypt. » (in Leviticus) and Paul in the letter to the Romans « You, then, why do you judge your brother? »

    I am the one who made the website of http://www.epell.org , an evangelic church in the south of France. I go with my wife and children to church, bible study groups, prayer evenings, to the local market to tell people about Jesus etc. I blog rarely, and usually in Dutch.

  10. Leon
    I have read the verses but don’t understand the point you are making.

    I did say that “I try to” live by those three.

    Glad to hear of your evangelism. I used to do that too, but double predestination put me off.

    We are going off topic, so I’ll say good bye.
    Take care of your self it was good of you to get in touch.
    Bye.

  11. The only I wanted to say with the verses is that indeed, the bible encourage us to be tolerant and not to judge or discriminate. A good thing to strive for.

    Goodbye Winslie


Leave a Reply

Categories

