Posted by: Winslie Gomez | 06/08/2007

The truth about men and blondes.

BlondesBlondes

I have spent the last three days by the seaside in a glorious holiday setting of Southern England and as the weather was incredibly warm, there were a bevvy of bikini clad beauties. 

The thing that most surprised me was the proportion of bottled blondes.  Such a huge amount of women of all manner of ages go for the tinted look, with obviously no deterrent to the dark roots that emblazon their scalp.

The guys must be just blind because it only takes a blonde to walk past to draw the wolf whistles of the guy stuffing his face with chips dunked in ketchup or the goofy fool with a can of lager for courage, grinning like a pregnant goat.

No wonder when I came across this fun piece “why men prefer blondes”, I just had to stop and see what the learned fellows had to say.  

Alan S. Miller Ph.D. and Satoshi Kanazawa Ph.D: could they be correct in their claim and observation?

Check it out for yourself

In case you are in doubt, it would appear that men are subconsciously drawn to the barbie doll look because “Men prefer young women in part because they tend to be healthier than older women. One accurate indicator of health is physical attractiveness; another is hair. Healthy women have lustrous, shiny hair, whereas the hair of sickly people loses its luster. Because hair grows slowly, shoulder-length hair reveals several years of a woman’s health status.

Men also have a universal preference for women with a low waist-to-hip ratio. They are healthier and more fertile than other women; they have an easier time conceiving a child and do so at earlier ages because they have larger amounts of essential reproductive hormones. Thus men are unconsciously seeking healthier and more fertile women when they seek women with small waists.”

The explanantion for blonde hair is that the lasses in the cold northern climes were always covered up and therefore hair was the obvious attraction thus the hair evolves to attract the male.  I am just a little bit sceptical about that explanation.

 

 Thanks to Patrick for the generous and free photo on www.flickr.com

Responses

  1. Very funny post. I have always been fascinated about the “dumb blonde” myth.

    Here is a link to the origin of the myth, and it’s really funny about Jessica’s misinterpretation of “Chicken of the Sea.”

    http://www.usatoday.com/life/2003-10-27-blondes_x.htm

    I have to confess an incident that occurred when I was in a business “university” for four weeks in Philidelphia.

    There was a “girlfriend” who happened to be ten years younger than most of us and wanted to be “young and sexy” and to her that meant blonde.

    I and a fellow partner in crime took it upon ourselves to give this babe a makeover. We took her shopping and bought “young attire” and drugstore hair color to turn her brown hair blonde and set about to perform a miracle before the party that was to be had that evening.

    We had no clue about hair color. Her hair turned from brown to bright orange. I’m not kidding, she had the hair color of an orangutan. She didn’t like us much, was in tears at the party but, aren’t redheads perceived as more intelligent than blondes?

  2. Donna,

    Thanks for retyping your comment. As you gathered not versatile at the techy end of things, me thinks of meself!

    Poor girl what a disaster! Did she think or feel intelligent, think not.

    I am amazed at these women parading with dark roots. Isn’t it obvious it’s a bottle blonde and aren’t they embarrased?
    Bit like men and comb-overs, you will recall.
    Cheers Donna

  3. I think your link article is very interesting. I will buy into the fact that some people (men and women) prefer younger mates or dates. I think, however, that having a younger man, e.g., a cabana boy twenty years younger than myself, would only make me feel older. He would have different wants and needs and friends his age and an entirely different vocabulary! Still, a fantasy could be nice.

    I am amazed at men who choose younger wives, e.g., Donald Trump. I guess some would be envious, but even though he has a young wife, he can’t change his reality. He’s still an old guy with freaky hair.

    As far as the dark roots, I don’t think most women believe they are fooling anyone with their hair color. Some are just desperate for attention, even if they look cheap.

    I have a problem, however, with women who play dumb. I used to be friends with a girl named Pam who was brunette and very attractive. Still, whenever there was a party, Pam had to put on the “dumb” act. When she was with the girls, she was intelligent and introspective. When she was around the guys, she was stupid and pandering. Arrgh!

  4. Donna,
    Toyboy image is quite amusing!

    As for the “put on dumb blonde”: I assume it must be a learned habit, because it obviously works.

    It’s the men who have to be pitied!
    winslie

  5. As a natural blonde female living along the Florida coast, I think I know a thing about women and their hair. When I go to the beach, sometimes my brunette friends complain that the darkness of their hair makes them feel hot all over. Their hair does feel hotter than mine. They envy me. I don’t know why. I think most of my friends are way prettier than me, but they tell me I’m the beautiful one.

    I know there is that perception about men, but as far as what hair color they prefer, trust me, men prefer whatever woman will give them the time of day. They hit on all of us, hoping one will bite. When we ignore them and give them every hint to leave us alone, they still want to buy us drinks. It’s a man thing.

  6. Thank you Floridaconcepts.

    Your insights as a natural Blonde are most welcome.
    I am a man too and unfortuantely have to accpet that we are a sad species. I like your description “whatever woman will give them the time of day”
    Thanks for speaking up.

  7. Slightly off topic, but hey it’s my blog isn’t!

    This guy says the right words for me. check him out yourself!
    http://awmyth.wordpress.com/2007/08/14/where-the-mind-is-without-fear/#comment-3165

  8. I will borrow a comment from Emily M., that “we all are vain.” Isn’t it the truth?

    So, what is the truth? I, for one, do not want any gray hair to grace my crown. I will color before it even thinks about appearing. But then again, my Scottish-Irish roots (no pun intended) dictate a drama of green eyes and red hair!

    Unfortunately, I was born a brunette, but thanks to modern technology, can live out my Scottish-Irish heritage! (Me mum was an O’Massey.)

    So, Winslie, are “dumb” blondes appealing? Are “dumb jocks” appealing? Good fodder for an article. You touched on it with your semi-hard article. What say you?

    Can’t ignore my roots. Heh. Heh.

  9. Donna,
    Thanks for the comment. Vanity is Universal it would appear. There was a picture of the Russian leader Putin pretend fishing ( hold was wrong i.e. he never held a fishing rod in his life) without his shirt, nice body too, for his age.
    Pakistan’s leader in the middle of his nations crisis sandwiched between the might of the US and Islamic militants + tribesman, found time to badly dye his receding hair a strange hue between brown and orange. Donkey piss, I understand was the magic ingredient for colouring at one time in history!

    To be able to live out one’s fantasies without offence to any other is a great position to be in. Colour away Donna! To your O’Massey hearts delight.

    As for “Dumb Blondes” it does work, men fall for it each and every time. You have been a witness to it, so have I.

    Men have a variety of likes, I for one am a hair person, a swish of the hair and my attention is drawn. Colour not important; a bit or even a hint of a curl even better.

    As for dumb jokes, we will always have jokes, it really depends on the context and the delivery. If meant to be-little then not acceptabale, but if an observation as we are doing, then I see no wrong!
    As for writing articles. C’mon lazy bones you have the inspiritaion, lets see it in print!! I have just been a bit busy and it’s the holiday season with lots of long weekends away.

  10. Donna,
    Completely off topic; but, have you traced your roots (not the hair variety) because next time I’m in Scotland will do some research if required.
    Probably be there end Sept.

  11. Winslie,

    My mother traced our family’s roots a few years ago, but I’m not sure how far back she went. I think her family is Scottish/Irish and my dad’s is Welsh, but I could have them reversed. I know her family was O’Massey and several generations back dropped the O.

    She found out during her geneology study that there was a deserter in the American Civil War on my dad’s side. Some skeletons are better off left to lie and shouldn’t be rattled! Then I guess we all can’t be expected to be descended from royalty, and there were some real nutters (as you say) even in some of those families.

    Sounds like you are having a wonderful holiday. I just returned from the beach and saw plenty of bottled blondes, both male and female. I was the mysterious redhead sitting under an umbrella wearing Paris Hilton sunglasses reading War and Peace. Not really. My dark roots were showing as I ate junk food and perused a tabloid to keep up with what’s going on in the world of Lindsay Lohen et al.

  12. Nice piece. I notice nobody’s mentioned conditioning on either side… It’s possible that men are conditioned by exposure to tv and advertising to think it’s okay to hit on every female in sight and also to interpret those of certain phsyical characteristics to be more likely to bite. Another influence might be body language…

    In Clive Hamilton’s book Affluenza he quotes a study that showed that exposure to “coke” advertising can actually alter the physical functioning of the brain. If that’s the case, what does other advertising and media exposure do and might that be an influence in brain chemical imbalance contributing to the plague of depression, bi-polar and suicide in Western countries?

  13. How much of such research is designed to “justify” existing prejudices? And in reality, how much of the blonde-worship is about media stereotypes? I think we’re all so soaked in it, we can’t tell anymore.

  14. Crowlie
    Sorry never got around to saying thank you for your comment.

    Appreciate your words and thoughts!

  15. Aurelius,
    I don’t want to agree that we are brainwashed but it would appear that is the general opinion.
    Cheers!

  16. I think that the eye naturally picks up lighter colours as they appear brighter. This is why road signs are yellow or bright/light colours.

    As for the ‘men prefer blondes’ it seems that this comes from the marylin munro days??


Leave a Reply

Categories

